## MINUTES OF LOWER ELKHORN NATURAL RESOURCES DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

7:30 p.m. Thursday, February 22, 2024 Lower Elkhorn NRD, 1508 Square Turn Blvd., Norfolk, Nebraska

The Board of Directors Meeting of the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District was called to order by Chairman Roger Gustafson on Thursday, February 22, 2024, at the Lower Elkhorn NRD, 1508 Square Turn Blvd., Norfolk, Nebraska. Chairman Roger Gustafson informed the Board and those attending of the Publication of Meeting Notice in the Norfolk Daily News on February 14, 2024 and the Nebraska Open Meetings Act information posted on the wall.

Roll call was taken by Administrative Assistant Patty Martens with 13 of 15 Directors present. Members present were Jerry Allemann, Jim Aschoff, Mark Burenheide, Scott Clausen, Michael Fleer, Mark Hall, Kris Loberg, Gary Loftis, Jay Reikofski, Matt Steffen, Anthony Wisnieski, Rod Zohner, Roger Gustafson. Absent Directors were Chad Korth and Melissa Temple

Motion was made by Loftis and seconded by Fleer <u>to excuse the absences of Korth and Temple.</u> Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Korth, Temple. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Allemann and seconded by Clausen <u>to adopt the agenda</u>. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner. Nay: None. Absent: Korth, Temple. Motion carried.

The reading and/or action on the minutes of the January 25, 2024 Board of Directors meeting was next on the agenda. Motion was made by Clausen and seconded by Hall *that the minutes of the January 25, 2024 Board of Directors meeting be approved*. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Korth, Temple. Motion carried.

The Finance Subcommittee report was given by Mark Hall. Motion was made by Hall and seconded by Wisnieski <u>to approve income in the amount of \$429,684.40 and expenses in the amount of \$585,793.94 for the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District</u>. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Fleer, Hall, Loberg, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner. Nay: None. Abstain: Clausen, Loftis, Reikofski, Gustafson. Absent: Korth, Temple. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Hall and seconded by Loftis to approve income in the amount of \$84,989.49 and expenses in the amount of \$53,508.48 for the Logan East Rural Water System as printed and distributed. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Korth, Temple. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Hall and seconded by Steffen <u>to approve income in the amount of</u> <u>\$7,973.03 and expenses in the amount of</u> \$4,736.17 for the Wau-Col Regional Water System. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen,

Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Korth, Temple. Motion carried.

The conservation cost share report was given by Project Manager Curt Becker. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

There was nothing to report for the Nebraska Association of Resources Districts.

There was nothing to report for The Nebraska Natural Resources Commission as Garry Anderson was not in attendance.

The Natural Resources Conservation Service report was referenced in Dropbox by General Manager Brian Bruckner as District Conservationist Robin Sutherland was not in attendance. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

The Nebraska Loess Hills RC&D report was next on the agenda. Loftis noted that the Loess Hills Board of Directors has been notified by NDEE that the grant for three household hazardous waste collections and one electronic waste collection was approved for 2024. There was nothing to report for the Northeast Nebraska RC&D.

The Bazile Groundwater Management Area report was referenced in Dropbox by General Manager Brian Bruckner as Lisa Lauver was not in attendance. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

The Administrative Report was given by General Manager Brian Bruckner. A copy is attached to the official minutes.

Motion was made by Loftis and seconded by Clausen to approve the appointment of Mark Peterson and reappointment of Ron Dierking and Brian Hagerbaumer to three year terms beginning January 2024 and ending January 2027, and to approve Gary Kruger as Vice-Chairman for calendar year 2024. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Korth, Temple. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Loftis and seconded by Gustafson <u>to approve the minutes of the February 12, 2024 Logan East RWS Advisory Meeting.</u> Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Korth, Temple. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Reikofski and seconded by Burenheide <u>to approve the minutes of the January 4, 2024 Wau-Col RWS Advisory Meeting.</u> Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Korth, Temple. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Reikofski and seconded by Zohner <u>To approve the reappointment of Angie Ohlrich, Carolyn Heine, and Jay Reikofski to a three year term beginning January 2024 and ending January 2027.</u> Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Korth, Temple. Motion carried.

The Information, Planning, Programs, Projects, Equipment & Legislation Committee of the Whole report was given by Matt Steffen.

Motion was made by Steffen and seconded by Hall <u>To approve the proposed amendments</u> to the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District Rules and Regulations for the Management of <u>Groundwater as presented by District staff, and to instruct staff to schedule and advertise for a Public Hearing to be conducted on March 28, 2024 to receive testimony from the public on the <u>proposed changes.</u> Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Korth, Temple. Motion carried.</u>

Motion was made by Steffen and seconded by Burenheide <u>To approve changes to the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District's Cover Crop Program Guidelines as presented by Staff.</u> Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Hall, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Steffen, Wisnieski, Zohner, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Korth, Temple. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 8:28 p.m.

Others Present: Ronald Dierking and Jim Reeves

I, the undersigned Secretary of the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the proceedings had and done by the Board of Directors on February 22, 2024 that all of the subjects included in the foregoing proceedings were contained in the agenda for at least twenty-four hours prior to said meeting, the minutes of the Chairman and the Board were in written form and available for public inspection within ten working days and prior to the next convened meeting of said body, that all news media requesting notification of the time and place of said meeting and the subjects to be discussed at said meeting.

Jay Reikofski,		