MINUTES OF LOWER ELKHORN NATURAL RESOURCES DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

7:30 p.m. Thursday, June 22, 2023 Lower Elkhorn NRD, 1508 Square Turn Blvd., Norfolk, Nebraska

The Board of Directors Meeting of the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District was called to order by Chairman Roger Gustafson on Thursday, June 22, 2023, at the Lower Elkhorn NRD, 1508 Square Turn Blvd., Norfolk, Nebraska. Chairman Gustafson informed the Board and those attending of the Publication of Meeting Notice in the Norfolk Daily News on June 14, 2023.

Roll call was taken by Administrative Assistant Patty Martens with 12 of 15 Directors present. Present: Jerry Allemann, James Aschoff, Mark Burenheide, Scott Clausen, Mark Hall, Chad Korth, Kris Loberg, Jay Reikofski, Matt Steffen, Melissa Temple, Anthony Wisnieski, Roger Gustafson. Absent: Michael Fleer, Gary Loftis, Rod Zohner.

Motion was made by Gustafson and seconded by Clausen <u>to excuse the absence of Fleer</u>, <u>Loftis, and Zohner</u>. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Fleer, Loftis, Zohner. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Korth and seconded by Loberg <u>to adopt the agenda</u>. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Fleer, Loftis, Zohner. Motion carried.

The reading and/or action on the minutes of the May 25, 2023 Board of Directors meeting was next on the agenda. Motion was made by Reikofski and seconded by Wisnieski *that the minutes of the May 25, 2023 Board of Directors meeting be approved.* Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Fleer, Loftis, Zohner. Motion carried.

The Finance Subcommittee report was given by Anthony Wisnieski. Motion was made by Wisnieski and seconded by Hall <u>to approve income in the amount of \$1,221,096.60 and</u> <u>expenses in the amount of \$557,299.58 for the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District</u>. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Fleer, Loftis, Zohner. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Wisnieski and seconded by Aschoff <u>to approve income in the</u> <u>amount of \$92,011.48 and expenses in the amount of \$41,513.17 for the Logan East Rural Water</u> <u>System as printed and distributed</u>. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Fleer, Loftis, Zohner. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Wisnieski and seconded by Hall <u>to approve income in the amount</u> of \$8,512.85 and expenses in the amount of \$6,214.53 for the Wau-Col Regional Water System. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Fleer, Loftis, Zohner. Motion carried.

The conservation cost share report was given by Project Manager Curt Becker. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

The Nebraska Association of Resources Districts report was given by Mark Hall. Mark attended the NARD and NARD Risk Pool meetings on June 12, 2023. Mark noted a rise in association fees along with the board's decision that the NRD insurance rates for the 2024 fiscal year will remain the same. A copy of the NARD report is attached to the official minutes.

The Nebraska Natural Resources Commission report was referenced in Dropbox as Garry Anderson was not in attendance. His report is attached to the official minutes.

The Natural Resources Conservation Service report was given by District Conservationist Robin Sutherland. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

The Nebraska Loess Hills RC&D report was referenced in Dropbox as Loftis was absent. A copy of the Loess Hills RC&D report is attached to the official minutes.

The Bazile Groundwater Management Area report was referenced in Dropbox by Brian Bruckner as Lisa Lauver, Project Coordinator for the BGMA, was not in attendance. A report is attached to the official minutes.

The Administrative Report was given by Interim General Manager Brian Bruckner. A copy is attached to the official minutes.

Motion was made by Gustafson and seconded by Claussen <u>to accept the Logan East</u> <u>Rural Water System Advisory Committee minutes of June 12, 2023</u>. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Reikofski, Steffen, Temple, Wisnieski, Gustafson. Nay: None. Absent: Fleer, Loftis, Zohner. Motion carried.

The Information, Planning, Programs, Projects, Equipment & Legislation Committee of the Whole report was given by Matt Steffen.

Next on the agenda was the Maple Creek WFPO 90% update. Janel Kaufman of Houston Engineering gave an overview and answered Director questions on the Maple Creek WFPO.

Motion was made by Alleman and seconded by Aschoff <u>to increase an October 2023</u> <u>motion limiting each certified irrigated acre within a D3 or D4 designated area from 15</u> <u>inches/acre to 20 inches/acre (for the irrigators who were not previously under the 9 inch</u> <u>allocation or in any quantity management subareas</u>).

Discussion followed.

Motion was made by Temple and seconded by Korth *to table the motion* Aye: Steffen, Temple. Nay: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Hall, Korth, Loberg, Reikofski,

Wisnieski, Gustafson. Absent: Fleer, Loftis, Zohner. Motion failed.

Vote on original motion <u>to increase an October 2023 motion limiting each certified</u> <u>irrigated acre within a D3 or D4 designated area from 15 inches/acre to 20 inches/acre (for the</u> <u>irrigators who were not previously under the 9 inch allocation or in any quantity management</u> <u>subareas</u>). Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Hall, Loberg, Reikofski, Wisnieski, Gustafson. Nay: Korth, Steffen, Temple. Absent: Fleer, Loftis, Zohner. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Clausen and seconded by Aschoff <u>to revisit the 2017 nine-inch</u> <u>allocation amount at the July 13, 2023 subcommittee meeting</u>. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Reikofski, Steffen, Wisnieski, Gustafson. Nay: Korth, Temple. Abstain: Hall, Loberg. Absent: Fleer, Loftis, Zohner. Motion passed.

Jeremy Milander, Bazile Water Quality Management, Assistant Extension Educator spoke of and gave a presentation on the Bazile Demo Sites.

Meeting adjourned at 10:30 p.m.

Others Present: Kole Pederson, Roger Woslager, Lucas Miller, Dave Domina, Richard Johnson, Jared Gubbels, Norm Funk, Van Neidig, Mike Krueger, Keith Richmond, Josh Gall, and Scott Uecker.

I, the undersigned Secretary of the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the proceedings had and done by the Board of Directors on June 22, 2023 that all of the subjects included in the foregoing proceedings were contained in the agenda for at least twenty-four hours prior to said meeting, the minutes of the Chairman and the Board were in written form and available for public inspection within ten working days and prior to the next convened meeting of said body, that all news media requesting notification of the time and place of said meeting and the subjects to be discussed at said meeting.

Jay Reikofski, Secretary