MINUTES OF THE LOWER ELKHORN NATURAL RESOURCES DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

Lower Elkhorn NRD Office 1508 Square Turn Blvd, Norfolk, Nebraska 7:30 p.m. – Thursday, March 27, 2025

The Board of Directors Meeting of the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District was called to order by Chairman Matt Steffen on Thursday, March 27, 2025 at the Lower Elkhorn NRD, 1508 Square Turn Blvd., Norfolk, Nebraska. Chairman Steffen informed the Board and those attending of the Publication of Meeting Notice in the Norfolk Daily News on March 21, 2025, and of the Nebraska Open Meetings Act information posted on the wall.

Roll call was taken by Administrative Assistant Patty Martens with 14 of 15 Directors present. Members present were Jerry Allemann, Jim Aschoff, Mark Burenheide, Scott Clausen, Mike Fleer, Roger Gustafson, Andy Hrabanek, Lee Klein, Chad Korth, Kris Loberg, Gary Loftis, Jay Reikofski, Melissa Temple, and Matt Steffen. Anthony Wisnieski was absent from the meeting.

Motion was made by Fleer and seconded by Burenheide <u>to excuse the absence of Anthony Wisnieski.</u> Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Gustafson, Hrabanek, Klein, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Temple, Steffen. Nay: None. Absent: Wisnieski. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Fleer and seconded by Klein <u>to adopt the agenda</u>. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Gustafson, Hrabanek, Klein, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Temple, Steffen. Nay: None. Absent: Wisnieski. Motion carried.

At this time, Chairman Steffen opened the floor to public comment. There were no comments from the public.

Motion was made by Loftis and seconded by Reikofski <u>to approve the minutes of the February 27, 2025 Board of Directors Meeting.</u> Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Gustafson, Hrabanek, Klein, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Temple, Steffen. Nay: None. Absent: Wisnieski. Motion carried.

The Finance Subcommittee report was given by Treasurer Jerry Allemann. Motion was made by Allemann and seconded by Hrabanek <u>to approve income in the amount of \$275,218.19</u> <u>and expenses in the amount of \$325,989.40 for the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District.</u>
Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Gustafson, Hrabanek, Klein, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Temple, Steffen. Nay: None. Absent: Wisnieski. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Allemann and seconded by Gustafson <u>to approve income in the</u> <u>amount of \$77,925.06 and expenses in the amount of \$58,048.51 for the Logan East Rural Water</u> System. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Gustafson, Hrabanek, Klein,

Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Temple, Steffen. Nay: None. Absent: Wisnieski. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Allemann and seconded by Klein <u>to approve income in the amount of \$6,599.93 and expenses in the amount of \$4,467.90 for the Wau-Col Regional Water System</u>. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Gustafson, Hrabanek, Klein, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Temple, Steffen. Nay: None. Absent: Wisnieski. Motion carried.

The conservation cost share report was given by Assistant General Manager Curt Becker. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

The Nebraska Association of Resources District report was given by Gary Loftis.

The Nebraska Natural Resources Commission – No report.

The Natural Resources Conservation Service report was given by Michael Jacobs, acting District Conservationist. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

The Nebraska Loess Hills report was given by Gary Loftis. Northeast Nebraska RC&D information was given by Melissa Temple.

The Bazile Groundwater Management Area report was referenced in Dropbox by General Manager Brian Bruckner as Lisa Lauver was not in attendance. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

The Administrative Report was given by General Manager Brian Bruckner. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

The Logan East Rural Water System report was presented by Logan East RWS Manager Shawn Blahak. A copy of the report is attached to the official minutes.

Motion was made by Loftis and seconded by Gustafson <u>to approve the minutes of the March 10, 2025 Logan East RWS Advisory meeting.</u> Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Gustafson, Hrabanek, Klein, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Temple, Steffen. Nay: None. Absent: Wisnieski. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Reikofski and seconded by Klein to instruct the General Manager to notify the City of Scribner that the District will not request any reimbursement funding for the City of Scribner's use of the fill dirt from the old Pebble Creek Flood Protection Levee. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Gustafson, Hrabanek, Klein, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Temple, Steffen. Nay: None. Absent: Wisnieski. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Reikofski and seconded by Aschoff <u>to authorize the Board</u> <u>Chairman and General Manager to sign the resolution that adopts the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District and Lewis and Clark Natural Resources District Hazard Mitigation Plan.</u> Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Gustafson, Hrabanek, Klein, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Temple, Steffen. Nay: None. Absent: Wisnieski. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Reikofski and seconded by Clausen <u>to instruct Staff to increase the</u> payment rate from \$40.00 per acre to \$100.00 per acre for the incentive program converting <u>irrigated cropland to irrigated grazing land.</u>

Discussion followed.

Motion was made by Loftis and seconded by Korth <u>to amend the original motion</u>. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Gustafson, Hrabanek, Klein, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Temple, Steffen. Nay: None. Absent: Wisnieski. Motion carried.

Vote on amended motion: <u>to instruct Staff to increase the payment rate from \$40.00 per acre to \$100.00 per acre, and to include wellhead protection areas, for the incentive program converting irrigated cropland to irrigated grazing land.</u> Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Gustafson, Hrabanek, Klein, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Temple, Steffen. Nay: None. Absent: Wisnieski. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Reikofski and seconded by Klein to instruct staff to issue Notices of Violation to farm operators who have failed to submit annual field reports as required by Section 12.2.2.5 of the LENRD Groundwater Management Area Rules and Regulations. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Gustafson, Hrabanek, Klein, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Temple, Steffen. Nay: None. Absent: Wisnieski. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Reikofski and seconded by Korth <u>to instruct staff to issue Notices of Violation to farm operators who have failed to obtain Nitrogen Certification as required by Section 12.2.2.2 of the LENRD Groundwater Management Area Rules and Regulations. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Gustafson, Hrabanek, Klein, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Temple, Steffen. Nay: None. Absent: Wisnieski. Motion carried.</u>

Motion was made by Reikofski and seconded by Hrabanek to approve the Interlocal Agreement between the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District and the City of Norfolk to provide support for the Household Hazardous Waste Facility located at the Norfolk Transfer Station. Aye: Allemann, Aschoff, Burenheide, Clausen, Fleer, Gustafson, Hrabanek, Klein, Korth, Loberg, Loftis, Reikofski, Temple, Steffen. Nay: None. Absent: Wisnieski. Motion carried.

The draft agreement between the Maskenthine Trail Network and the Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District will be brought forward at a future meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 8:27 p.m.