Nebraska's Natural Resources are the greatest sources of the state's wealth and its assurance for future prosperity.

In 1972, the Nebraska Legislature enacted laws to combine 154 special purpose entities into 23 Natural Resources Districts (NRDs).  These Districts are unique to Nebraska and the rest of the country.  NRDs are local government units with broad responsibilities to protect our natural resources.  Major Nebraska river basins form the boundaries enabling the districts to respond best to local needs with local control and local solutions.

Since being created in 1972, NRDs have experienced tremendous growth in the responsibilities given to them by state statute, especially in protecting groundwater.  Other responsibilites include:  Erosion Prevention, Flood Prevention, Soil Conservation, Pollution Control, Management of Wildlife Habitat, Forestry and Range Management, and Recreation Management.

The Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District (LENRD) office moved from the Lifelong Learning Center (LLC) on the campus of Northeast Community College, to their new location at 1508 Square Turn Boulevard in Norfolk on May 24th, 2018. The elected board members and staff are responsible for helping protect natural resources in all or parts of fifteen counties in Northeast Nebraska.

The Nebraska Association of Resources Districts (NARD), a statewide association created by NRDs, provides administrative services, legislative representation, statewide communication and coordination for the 23 independent districts.

Together we're Protecting Lives, Protecting Property, Protecting the Future.  Check out Nebraska's NRDs at